As I Am

Cast your eyes 
Upon the blistering sky 
Let the heat 
Burn its image 
Through your tears 
Sweltering, 
Sizzling upon skin 
You lift a hand 
To stop the flow 
But still it kept to its course 

Cast your eyes 
Upon me 
Let my image 
Cool you down 
Stop your frown 
Stop your tears 
Such an effect 
I have on you… or had 
One I am pleased 
To note 

Cast your eyes 
Upon the dried floor 
Of flaky residue 
Dramatic end to fights 
You bleed as I do 
Of that I am thrilled to know 
What of the soothing consequence 
That I produce in you? 
Too easily shattered 
This contented peace 

Scratch upon scratch 
The surface of me 
Cuts deeper 
And deeper still… 
But of you 
Hardly a dent 
I wish to hurt you 
Wound you 
Harm you 
I wish you to be damaged… 

As I am. 

Leave a Reply

