Butterfly

I’d like to pluck a pillow from the sky and fluff it up beneath my head

The green bed is prickly soft as it cradles my weary body

And like a glowing LCD effect, the lights play a theatric show

Of reds and blues, purples and oranges

Before I close my eyes to rest, a fragile beauty flits gently across my vision

Fluttering wings dip and fan before it touches down onto the tip of my nose

But it is gone too soon, departing with a silent goodnight

As always, I’m left all alone.

Leave a Reply

